CTAE Graduates Recognized At Honors Night


Evidence of the relevancy and success of CTAE is represented in the graduation rate for Miller County students in Career Technical and Agricultural Education, the number of CTAE (Career, Technical & Agriculture Education) graduates, and the number of “Certificate of Value” earners.  Thursday, May 18, 2023 at the Miller County Pirate Gym, 48 students were recognized for their accomplishments in CTAE.

The graduation rate for Miller County’s CTAE participants is 98 percent. Students also have the opportunity to become “pathway completers.”  Students who are pathway completers have successfully completed a battery of courses outlined by the State of Georgia in a specific area.  These graduates are prepared for their next step after high school graduation; whether pursuing higher education through college, military, technical training, or directly entering the workforce. These seniors were recognized at the recent Miller County High School’s Senior Awards Program.  These individuals were presented cords which they will wear at graduation and/or certificates outlining their accomplishments.  This group will also receive a gold seal on their diploma signifying their accomplishments in the area of CTAE.


Agriculture Pathway Completers 2023

This year Miller County High School CTAE had 48 pathway completers. Several of our students completed more than one pathway.  Pathways represented in Miller County High School are Agriculture with 13 completers:  Vince Andrews, Jackie Baist, Isaiah Carter, Hattie Harrison, Aaliyah Hawkins, Macee Holmes, Damon Lewis, Adrian Peterson, Tristen Peterson, Devin Sheffield, John Shiver, Grayson Spence, and Madison Virgin (teachers Mandy Long & Jason Houston).  Business 10 completers:  Tristen Blair, Spencer Bryan, Lilly Castro, Katie Chambless, Jaquala Johnson, Zatwayla Kelley, William Langley, Darby McCann, Harrison Roland, and Emma Young (teacher Kyle Thomas).  Healthcare with 16 completers:  Jackie Baist, Tristen Blair, Marcus Burden, Katie Chambless, Tiarah Cooper, Kade Coronado, Victoria Edwards, JeDarren Franklin, Macee Holmes, Parys Miller, Quanteria Morris, Jessica Newberry, Diamond Pitts, JaMesia Stubbs, Elijah Williams, and Ashley Womack (teacher Dana Tabb).  Fine Arts completers were Katie Chambless, Hannah Chapman, Abigail Hay, Kyler Norman, and Ashley Womack.  The welding pathway offered in conjunction with Southern Regional boasted 4 completers Kade Coronado, Macee Holmes, Adrian Peterson, and Emma Young, (Peyton Paine, instructor).


Business Pathway Completers 2023

Graduates who are active in student organizations (CTSOs) in our department were also recognized at the awards program.  Future Farmers of America (FFA) advisors Mandy Long and Jason Houston presented cords and stoles to graduating seniors who have been outstanding in their efforts to further the practice of agriculture.  Dana Tabb HOSA advisor recognized her group with cords and Kyle Thomas FBLA advisor recognized his group with stoles.


Welding Pathway Completers 2023

A “Certificate of Value” is an additional certification that CTAE students can attain.  This consists of a battery of performance and/or written exams.  Miller County CTAE had 15 students who attained this distinction this year.  They are Welding Kade Coronado, Macee Holmes, Adrian Peterson, and Emma Young.  In addition, Adrian Peterson received the Lewis M Carter Scholarship for his welding expertise.  Other “Certificate of Value” earners included: Business Tristen Blair, Spencer Bryan, Lilly Castro, Katie Chambless, Jaquala Johnson, Zatwayla Kelley, William Langley, Darby McCann, Harrison Roland, and Emma Young.  Agriculture had two recipients of certificates of value Tristen Peterson & Grayson Spence.